top of page
  • Writer's pictureGracie

How to Love a Creative, Work From Home, Person Well

4 years ago I wrote a post with the same title (check it out here, and also it's an old blog so don't judge if you dig around). So many of the points I made are still 100% valid. But I've found that with time and changing "job titles" that the way I feel loved is a little different these days. So, I just want to share some of my heart and how I am feeling, in hopes that if you know someone that is a small business owner, side hustler or work from homer, you can make sure they are feeling the love too.

In my post from 2015 I shared 5 ways to love a creative person. I'll share those, then expand them a little bit and maybe add on a few more now that I've gained some experience, and a new title.


1. Remind them you see what makes them unique! YES LORD.

2. Allow them creative space. Mmm still rings true.

3. Understand their creative cycle. This is a hard one because it can be so different for each person but typically its an excitement to make something, then thinking this was a dumb idea and wanting to give up, pushing through only to feel so excited and proud of your final product.

4. Their work is always personal.

5. Always be willing to day dream.


Now, I still think all 5 of these are important and as a new mom who is trying to manage this creative business from home with a husband that works his tale off, I've realized I need more than just my mom and husband to understand these things. Majority of the time I am exhausted, late night/early mornings, a baby that literally won't stop moving, deciding on if I have the energy to chase her around or if she should just sit in her walker and play bumper cars for the next few minutes. Then on top of that I am working. I may be home, I may be in my leggings and fuzzy socks but I am working. I check my analytics for my website, I plan out social media posts to engage potential clients, I email current clients, after much more than just those three things, I start the creative process. The painting, the sketching and when that is finished, I process and ship each individual order.

And it is so good.


Yes, checking off a to-do list filled with goals to build my dream is amazing. Early mornings or late night business sessions are rewarding even if it means way too much coffee was consumed. But being at home is lonely. I would love for people to ask me "how is work going this week?". To consider the balance of business and motherhood to be work, like real work, that you discuss with people. Interaction to those Instagram posts helps me feel seen, heard and valid. Or when catching up in a text or a phone call asking about goals and sales.


And hear this, I want you to know this, when people ask you to support small it doesn't always mean you have to spend money. Yes, purchasing an item is always so exciting and very helpful. BUT you can support small business owners, creatives, and moms, by seeing them, interacting with them, talking to them. I don't expect my friends to buy something, I know that not everyone wants a Christmas card with cotton painted on it. And that is okay! Like really okay! My business love language isn't through sales but through people seeing and interacting with all the hard work that goes in to each and every element, even when it seems small.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page